top of page
  • CyberX

Main Cybersecurity Standards

Updated: Sep 14, 2023

Cybersecurity is the front line of digital protection in a world where private information and critical infrastructure are constantly at risk. Cybersecurity standards are guidelines and best practices established to ensure the confidentiality, integrity and availability of data and systems. As cyberattacks become more sophisticated and frequent, adopting and complying with these standards is paramount in digital resilience.

Main Cybersecurity Standards

Cybersecurity standards help protect information systems and networks against digital threats. There are several widely recognized ones that address different aspects of security. Here are some of the main:

ISO 27001: International standard that establishes the requirements for an Information Security Management System (ISMS). It provides a comprehensive set of controls and practices for managing information security in an enterprise.

CIS Controls: The Center for Internet Security (CIS) 20 Critical Security Controls provide a list of practices for improving cybersecurity. A wide range of areas are involved, from asset management to malware protection.

GDPR: The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is a European regulation that determines rules for the protection of personal data. Although not specifically a cybersecurity standard, strict requirements are imposed for the processing and protection of data, including security measures.

NIST Cybersecurity Framework: Developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in the United States, this framework offers guidelines for improving a company's cyber resilience. It focuses on five fundamental areas: identify, protect, detect, respond and recover.

PCI DSS: The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) is a grouping of security requirements for organizations that handle payment card information. It aims to protect cardholder data and is adopted by the payments industry.

HIPAA: The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) in the United States stipulates security standards for safeguarding personal health-related information (PHI). These standards include cybersecurity requirements for healthcare organizations.

COBIT: COBIT (Control Objectives for Information and Related Technologies) is a framework that helps organizations develop and implement effective IT controls, including cybersecurity controls.

ANSI/ISA-62443:This standard focuses on industrial cybersecurity, providing guidelines for protecting industrial control systems (ICS) and networks in sectors such as energy, manufacturing and critical infrastructure.

The choice of which standard to follow depends on the sector, applicable regulations and the specific security objectives of each organization. These organizations often combine multiple standards and frameworks to create a comprehensive cybersecurity program tailored to their needs.

Finally, as we move into the digital age, it is imperative that organizations and individuals consider adopting key cybersecurity standards as a priority. Cybersecurity is a shared responsibility, and compliance with established standards can be the difference between security and data compromise. Therefore, it is time to take concrete steps to preserve systems, data and identities online by adhering to these standards and investing in cybersecurity.

Did you already know these standards/regulations? Does your company already follow one?


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page